Wake County Speedway “America’s Favorite Bullring” is a quarter-mile asphalt race track located in Raleigh, North Carolina.

Wake County Speedway was established in 1962 by Glenn and Marvin Simpkins. Glenn’s brother Talmadge Simpkins was beside him through all of their trials and errors. Wake County Speedway operated as a dirt track until 1987. With the increased popularity of NASCAR racing, Wake County Speedway was paved and became an asphalt track in Raleigh.

Many former NASCAR drivers have made appearances during the tracks history. Those drivers include J.D. McDuffie, Benny Parsons, Ken Schrader, Loy Allen, Jr., Dennis Setzer, Randy Renfrow, and current NASCAR/ARCA Mason Diaz.

Today, Wake County Speedway is operated by Charlie Hansen, who has been a part of the track since 1994, formerly as a competitor, then an employee, and now the promoter. In 2020, Wake County Speedway became NASCAR sanctioned for the first time.


Length: 0.25 (1/4) mile oval
Banking: 7° in corners.


Charlie Hansen – charlie@wcspeedway.com


William Brown
Cell: (919) 427-5602
E-mail: wbrown2552@gmail.com


2109 Simpkins Rd.
Raleigh, NC 27603


Phone: (919) 578-7858
E-mail: info@wcspeedway.com